Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: 1-888-690-0211
Phone: (843) 277-6061
Shelly Leeke Law Firm, LLC

Police say the truck driver involved in my South Carolina accident fell asleep right before the crash. Does the law limit how many hours a truck driver can driver per day?

If you were involved in a South Carolina truck accident and the police indicate that the truck driver fell asleep right before the crash, you should know that the law does limit the number of hours a truck driver can drive per day.

Fatigue is a common form of negligence that can cause a truck accident. It is vital that truck drivers get adequate rest before hauling loads with such a large vehicle. The hours of service regulations stipulate how long a truck driver can drive and how much rest is necessary between trips.

Hours of Service for Truck Drivers Carrying Property

Truck drivers who carry property are subject to the following hours of service: 
 
  • 11 hour driving limit - maximum of 11 hours driving after 10 consecutive hours off duty.
  • 14 hour driving limit - may not drive beyond the 14th consecutive hour after coming on duty, following 10 consecutive hours off duty.
  • 60/70 hour on-duty limit - cannot drive after 60/70 hours on duty in 7/8 consecutive days. Driver can restart a 7/8 consecutive day period after taking 34 or more consecutive hours off duty.  


Hours of Service for Truck Drivers Carrying Passengers

Truck drivers who carry passengers are subject to the following hours of service: 
 

  • 10 hour driving limit - maximum of 10 hours driving after 8 consecutive hours off duty.
  • 15 hour on-duty limit - may not drive after being on duty for 15 hours, following 8 consecutive hours off duty.
  • 60/70 hour on-duty limit - cannot drive after 60/70 hours on duty in 7/8 consecutive days.  


Contact a Charleston personal injury attorney immediately if you have been seriously injured in a South Carolina truck accident. An attorney can help you determine if you have a valid South Carolina personal injury claim.

Contacting a Charleston Personal Injury Attorney Today

Before you file a South Carolina personal injury claim, request a copy of our complimentary consumer guide, The South Carolina Accident Book for Personal Injury Victims. When you're ready to get started on settling your truck accident claim, contact a Charleston personal injury attorney for a complimentary information packet and consultation - 888-690-0211.

Shelly Leeke
South Carolina Injury Lawyer

Live Chat