South Carolina Child Restraint Law
Safety regulations for children who are traveling in motor vehicles in South Carolina & the penalties for noncompliance:
- Children 17 years and under must be restrained in a seat belt.
- Childrent 5 years and under must be restrained in an appropriate child safety seat
- Children 5 years and under that weigh between 40 and 80 lbs., must be restrained in a booster seat in the back seat;
- Children ages 1-5 that weigh be 20 and 39 lbs., must be restrained in a forward facing car seat in the back seat;
- Infants through age 1, or infants that weigh under 20 lbs., must be restrained in a rear facing child car seat in the back seat;
- When no applicable law applies to the child, South Carolina law requries the driver to ensure the child and also the child safety seat are secured properly;
- The South Carolina seat belt law applies to all occupants in both the front and rear of the vehicle.
Penalties for Non-Compliance:
1. Driver is subject to a $150.00 maximum fine for a child restraint violation
2. The offender is subject to a maximum fine of $25.00 for a safety belt violation