Many residents of Folly Beach believe that golf carts are only as dangerous as you make them, while others believe that there should be stricter golf cart laws in South Carolina. Currently, South Carolina law states that to drive a golf cart, you must be at least 16 years old and possess a license and a golf cart permit. Golf carts are not permitted to be driven after daylight hours and cannot be driven more than two miles from your home or office. They also cannot be driven on primary roads- only secondary roads where the speed limit is not more than 35 mph.
One option for making golf carts safer would be to require seat belts to be worn while operating the vehicle. There are many instances where people who wore a seat belt and were involved in a car accident were not as badly injured as those who did not wear a seat belt. It only makes sense that adding a seat belt law for golf carts would drastically decrease the amount of accidents. However, this of course would be contested by golfers because it would make it more difficult to get in and out of the golf cart when playing, which is the original purpose of the golf cart.
While additional safety features, such as lights and rearview mirrors, would help to decrease accidents, the fact of the matter is that golf cart drivers need to drive safer on South Carolina roads. Golf carts are meant to be driven on golf courses at low speeds. When driving on residential roads, golf cart drivers should never exceed the speed limit and always be aware of other vehicles on the road. This way, devastating South Carolina golf cart accidents can be prevented.
If you or someone you know has been involved in a South Carolina golf cart accident, contact the Shelly Leeke Law Firm at 1-888-690-0211 for immediate assistance. We offer free consultations and work on a contingency basis so that you do not have to worry about the financial burden of being involved in an accident.