Being in a collision can be overwhelming. The thought of also needing to report the accident adds to the overwhelm. However, it’s important to know that you only have a certain amount of time to report a truck accident.
A South Carolina truck accident attorney can help you seek financial damages and report your accident.
You Will Need to Submit a Form to the Department of Motor Vehicles
If you are the driver or owner of the truck that was involved in an accident, and you didn’t call the police at the time, you will need to complete and submit a traffic collision report. This form should be mailed within 15 days of the collision and sent to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. If you didn’t contact law enforcement at the scene of your accident, you need to submit a form to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles if the truck damage is $1,000 or more or bodily injury.
Information to Fill Out on the Form
The form is straightforward. You will fill in information about the date and time the truck accident in South Carolina occurred. Next, you will fill in details about your vehicle and the other person’s vehicle (if available). You will need your insurance company’s information. The rest of the form contains information about victims in your truck, witnesses, and a narrative.
Send in a Report, Even If the Accident Is Minor
For South Carolina truck accidents, you don’t have to fill out the form if there was no damage to your property or if it was under $1,000 in damage. However, sending a report to be safe is always a good idea. It’s essential to think about scenarios that could play out.
For example, the other driver could file an insurance claim against you. Without your personal police report, this could go the opposite way. It’s best to document everything and get a police report for even the most minor accident.
You Can Get a Copy of Your Police Report
Whether you need your police report for insurance reasons or want it for your own records, you can access it. There are various ways to get a copy of a police report in South Carolina. If you were involved in a truck accident and need your police report, see below.
You can get a copy if you complete a FR-50 form or a Request for Collision Report. Once you have everything filled out, bring it to your nearby Department of Motor Vehicles office. The DMV will process your paperwork and advise you when to expect a copy of your report.
You can easily log on to the South Carolina DMV online accident report page and request a copy online. The DMV will process the application. If approved, they will mail a copy to the address on file.
If you prefer, you can also mail your Form FR-50. Make sure you send in a check with the fee ($6). Mail processing may take longer than in person or online. Once completed and approved, they will mail the report to you.
You May Not Need a Police Report to File an Insurance Claim
In South Carolina, you can file a truck accident claim without a police report if there are no injuries or deaths. If there are any injuries, you need a detailed police report when you file your claim for a truck accident. You can still file without the report, but you likely will have trouble doing so.
South Carolina Is Not a No-Fault State for Vehicle Accidents
The person at fault is the one who will be liable for paying for any damages or injuries. When a truck accident in South Carolina happens, your insurance company and the other driver’s insurance company will assign both of you an adjuster to determine who was at fault. The person not at fault will need to file a claim with the other driver’s insurance company.
South Carolina follows a modified comparative negligence system. Drivers can only collect damages from the other party if they are 51% or more at fault. If the other driver was less than 51% at fault, you can collect damages minus the percentage of the at-fault person.
Types of Injuries Common to Truck Accidents
It’s common not to realize you have injuries during a car crash until later. They can start subtly and develop. Some of the common injuries that can progress like this are:
- Spinal cord injuries
- Internal organ damage
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Herniated discs
- Bone fractures
- Chronic pain
- Nerve pain
If you have your medical records, it should show your charts and doctor notes, which all create a timeline linking your symptoms to the accident. If you have ongoing treatment, this adds up, and you may get reimbursed. When you present your medical records, police report, and insurance records, and have a medical doctor’s testimony, it would be hard to deny that your pain and suffering aren’t from the accident.
Reach Out If You Need Help Reporting Your Truck Accident
A truck accident form can seem daunting to fill out yourself. If you are looking to sue the other driver for injuries or property damage, it can all seem like too much to handle. If you want to know what step you should take specifically for your situation, contact us to schedule a consultation.