Did you know? Eighty percent of all traffic fatalities occur within twenty five miles of home and at speeds under forty miles per hour. Safety belts can prevent death in nearly half of the the 40,000 auto accident fatalities each year.
You Are Breaking The Law If You Do Not Wear Your Seat Belt:
Seat belt usage is mandatory for all drivers and passengers on South Carolina roadways. The following is a summary of South Carolina's seat belt law:
A police officer can stop a driver if the officer has a clear and unobstructed view of the driver or an occupant of the vehicle not wearing a seat belt.
A police officer can stop a driver if the officer has a clear and unobstructed view of a child that is not properly secured in a child restraint system.
Drivers stopped for violating the seat belt law may be fined $25 per person up to $50 per vehicle.
The driver is responsible for making sure all children and occupants under the age of 17 without a driver's license, have their seat belt fastened.
Tips to help you make buckling up a mandatory part of your travels:
Do not begin moving your vehilce until every person in the car is buckled up.
Most passengers will gladly comply with a request to buckle up, but if they are reluctant remind them there is a fine for not buckling up.
Instill in your child the importance of wearing a seat belt any time they are in the vehicle.
Adjust your seat belt to fit snugly over your hip bones, crossing your lap low on your hips as opposed to your stomach.
Place shoulder belt over your shoulder, not under your arm.
Only have as many pasengers in your vehicle as there are seat belts available.
If you can answer YES to theses six questions, we may be the injury law firm for you.
Do you have total expected medical bills and lost wages (not just out-of-pocket expenses) of at least $2,000.00?
Is there visible property damage to your car?
Was the accident someone else’s fault?
Did you seek medical treatment no more than (3) days after the accident?
Have you followed the recommended course of treatment of your doctor?
Did the accident happen less than 18 months ago?
If you answered YES to each of these questions, you should give us a call at 843-277-6061 to find out if you need a personal injury attorney for your case.