Because the vehicles they drive are so huge and have such potential to cause serious damage, it’s only fitting that truck drivers are held to a high standard when it comes to their safety and behavior.
As a way to discourage unsafe driving practices, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has specified “disqualification” periods for which drivers may not get behind the wheel of a truck. The amount of time drivers are disqualified can vary, depending on the violation.
Some examples of violations and disqualification time frames include:
- Leaving the scene of a truck accident – 1 year disqualification for 1st conviction; lifelong disqualification for 2nd offense.
- Speeding excessively (more than 15 mph) – 60 day disqualification for a 2nd offense within 3 years.
- Following vehicles too closely – 60 day disqualification for a 2nd offense within 3 years.
When a truck driver should be temporarily disqualified for any of the above offenses but is found behind the wheel at the time of your truck accident in South Carolina, you may be able to hold the trucking company liable in your personal injury claim, since it did not follow federal regulations.
To determine what constitutes trucking company negligence and whether you may file a claim, you’ll want to consult with a Charleston truck accident lawyer.
Seeking the Help of a Charleston Truck Accident Lawyer
The South Carolina truck accident lawyer team at the Shelly Leeke Law Firm is available to help accident victims cope with the legal implications of a serious injury. Our firm’s focus on personal injury cases includes injury from auto accidents including pedestrian and bicycle injuries, work-related injuries and Workers’ Compensation claims, and injuries resulting from dangerous prescription drugs.
Before you file a South Carolina personal injury claim, request a free copy of our South Carolina injury book. When you’re ready to get started on settling your accident claim, contact a Charleston truck accident lawyer for a free information packet and consultation – 1-888-690-0211.
Call or text 1-844-736-8342 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form